Wienerberger’s unique Smeed Dean London stock brick was the perfect solution for the regeneration of this important historic site. The award-winning Duke of York/Saatchi Gallery project, designed by Paul Davis+Partners on behalf of the Cadogan Estate, is an exciting mixed-use development right in the heart of the London Borough of Chelsea.
The impressive 70,000sq ft Duke of York headquarters was originally built in 1804 by John Sanders, architect of the equally stunning military academy at Sandhurst, and has been used as a military asylum and school for army orphans before being sold off by the Ministry of Defence in the 1990s for development.
The £45m renovation of the Grade II* listed building, therefore, demanded careful attention to detail. Architects from Paul Davis+Partners were keen to combine the traditional military architectural style with strong contemporary elements in the hope of attracting upmarket retailers to the historic setting.
As the project had a particularly high degree of historical sensitivity, it was imperative for the architect to specify a brick which would complement its surroundings, while also fulfilling the engineering requirements of the new construction. The extension has bedded in well to the original building and served as an exemplar across the site. Smeed Dean London Stock has continued to be used in both the residential development and two further pavilion buildings in Cavalry Square.