Metalcraft recently completed the reinstatement of new historic railings around the beautiful St James’s Square in London.
Designed originally in 1817 by the great John Nash, architect of Buckingham Palace and many other prominent London landmarks, the railings were removed in WW2 to be melted down to provide additional ammunition for the war effort.
Basic railings were installed in 1974 but the residents of the square wanted to restore the originals and raised funds to enable the project to go ahead.
Susan Walker Architects and Metalcraft used period photographs to research and design the railings to ensure that they were as authentic as possible. One of the lower dog rails remained and was also used for reference. It has been left in situ unrestored as a testament to the past.
Download the technical drawings for the project here.
View Railings Product Entry