Mandatory CE marking and compliance for UK product manufacturers

Mandatory CE marking and compliance for UK product manufacturers

The UK construction industry has undergone a significant change in the way construction products are sold in Europe. On the 1st July 2013 the UK adopted the pan-European Construction Products Regulations (CPR). Under the CPR a construction product will need to be CE marked and accompanied by a declaration of performance if it is to be placed on the market in the European Economic Area.

The scope of the CPR and associated CE marking is limited to product characteristics for which there are national provisions relating to the products’ use under the following headings:

1. Mechanical resistance and stability
2. Safety in case of fire
3. Hygiene, health and the environment
4. Safety and accessibility in use
5. Protection against noise
6. Energy economy and heat retention
7. Sustainable use of natural resources

National provisions relating to these issues vary between EU Member States and so, although a product may be CE marked, it may not be suitable for particular applications or for use within some Member States.

While manufacturers do not need to declare performance for every characteristic of a construction product, they do need to do so for those characteristics for which there are provisions (i.e. regulations or technical rules) in relation to the intended use or uses in the Member States where the manufacturer intends the product to be made available on the market.

More Information:

For CE Marking Basics and FAQs see The European Commission's Directorate-General for Enterprise and Industry.

If you have queries about the implementation of the CPR in the UK please contact:

Building Regulations & Standards Division
Department for Communities & Local Government
Eland House
Bressenden Place


Term Definition
Construction Products Regulation (CPR) regulations to ensure reliable information on construction products in relation to their performances
CE Marking indicates a product’s compliance with EU legislation andso enables the free movement of products throughout the European Economic Area
European Economic Area (EEA) comprises the member states of the European Union(EU), except Croatia, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway

Add to Project Board

Create a new project board:

Posted by
Lauren Easton - Editorial Account Manager

Related Blog Articles